1925 Arnott General Store

Welcome to the Arnott General Store, the most recent addition to Moreston Heritage Village, open since June of 2023.

The 19th and early 20th centuries were the golden age of general stores, with thousands of them operating across Ontario. The Arnott General Store is styled after, and stocked as, a rural general store in 1925. It is named for the Arnott General Store, which existed in the hamlet of Arnott, south of Chatsworth, on the Toronto-Sydenham Road (now Highway 10). It is named in remembrance of Richard and Jessie Wheildon, who purchased the original Arnott General Store in the late 1920s and served the community of Arnott as storekeepers through the Second World War (1939-1945). Thomas Wheildon, grandson of Richard and Jessie, generously supported the construction of the Arnott General Store in Moreston.

The Arnott General Store is both welcoming and well provisioned, with nearly 700 artefacts on display, supplemented by over 1500 (and counting!) replica products. A dressmaker's shop is attached to the rear of the store, which stands in the heart of Moreston Heritage Village, true to the traditional role of a general store as a community gathering place. To enter the store is to truly take a step back in time - an experience which delights visitors of all ages.

Take a tour

Click on the locations / buildings below to learn about the Heritage Village

The Big Red ShedBlue Water Garage1920's George Rice Blacksmith Shop1920's Herb Miller Sawmill1920's School House1920's Timber Framed Barn1920's Farm House1920's Orange Hall1886 Log House1920's Good Cheer BandstandOutdoor AmphitheatreCarpentry Shop1853 Log CabinMoore & Muir Engine Works1897 CN Caboose1925 Arnott General StoreThe Grey Monument

View 3D Model of Moreston Village (30 MB)

 

3D model created in collaboration with St. Mary's High School

 

Share this content